A Day in the Life


As a part-time working mom I spend Mondays-Wednesdays in the office and Thursdays and Fridays at home with my two boys. I have always loved seeing how other moms structure their days, so today I’m here to share a little about what our days typically look like!

Monday-Wednesday (Working Days)

6:30 a.m. – The alarm goes off and I tiredly get out of bed and get dressed (I shower at night), put my makeup on and run downstairs to let the dog out. I then pack my lunch (usually a beef stick, string cheese, fruit and yogurt). While I am packing my lunch I start a pot of coffee, heat up an egg muffin and throw a piece of bread in the toaster. I pour my coffee into a travel mug and load my purse, gym bag and breakfast into the car. I then run upstairs to wake the kids up and quickly get them dressed and loaded into the car.

7:15 a.m. – I drop the kids off at the in-home daycare a few blocks away from our house. After a quick hug and kiss good-bye I hurry back to my car where I turn up my music and enjoy my breakfast and 20 minutes of “me” time while I drive to work.

IMG_21447:30 a.m. – 3:00 p.m. – Work. I almost always work through my lunch so I can sneak out earlier.

3:30 p.m. – I hit the gym. I used to feel super guilty about leaving my kids at daycare longer while I went to workout, but I know how much better I feel after a workout and decided it was important to carve out that time for myself.

4:45 p.m. – Pick the kids up from daycare and head home. This is always the craziest part of the day. The kids are hungry, I am trying to make supper, there is always laundry that needs to be done and my house is usually a mess of toys. I play with the kids for a little bit and then the kids either play or watch a show while I cook supper.

5:30 p.m. – Feed the kids supper. We love to eat as a family, but my husband has been working late the past few weeks and 5:30 is our cutoff time for getting the toddler fed. I know this is only temporary so we are making it work for now.

6:00 – 6:45 p.m. – Play outside with the neighbor kids, go on a walk, play with sidewalk chalk, etc. My husband usually gets home somewhere in this time frame and joins us in whatever we are doing.

6:45 p.m. – Bath time for both boys.

7:00 – 8:00 p.m. –  Our 18-month-old goes to bed right at 7:00 very easily and quickly. My husband and I then enjoy some quality time with our oldest son. We play or watch a movie or sneak back outside for a little more playtime.

8:00 p.m. – My husband and I take turns putting our 4-year-old to bed. He usually comes out of his room 1,000 times (more like 4 times, but it sure feels like a lot more than that!). My husband and I finally sit down to eat supper.

9:00 p.m. – I am exhausted! I usually crawl into bed and read a book or catch up on blogs on my iPad.

10:00 p.m. – My husband comes to bed and we watch the news.

10:30 p.m. – I usually watch an episode of my current favorite show (Revenge has been the show of choice lately) on Hulu Plus.

11:00 p.m. – Lights out!

Thursdays and Fridays (Stay-at-Home Days)

7:30 – 8:00 a.m. – Wake up when the kids get up and lounge in our bed for a little bit watching PBS Kids.

8:00 a.m. – Make the kids breakfast. Clean the kitchen counters and vacuum the first floor. Start laundry.

8:30 a.m. – Kids play while I eat breakfast and drink my coffee and check my work email.IMG_2408

9:00 a.m. – Play with the kids. Get the kids and myself dressed and keep changing loads of laundry.

10:00 a.m. – Head out to run errands (usually consists of a Target trip and grocery shopping). If we don’t run errands we usually go to the zoo, visit the mall, run to Costco or have a play date in the morning.

11:30 a.m. – Get home from the store and unload groceries. Fix the kids a quick lunch of cheese quesadillas and grapes. Put away groceries and clean out the fridge while they eat.

Noon – Drop my oldest off at preschool.

12:15 p.m. – Come home and put my toddler down for his nap. Make my lunch and eat while I check Facebook and my work email and read blogs. Decide that I really want to paint our computer desk white. Get the first coat of spray paint on it and decide to organize some drawers that I had been wanting to get to. Read a couple chapters of my book.

3:00 p.m. – Wake Charlie up and head to school to get Drake.

3:15 p.m. – Snack time! GoGo squeeZ applesauce pouches are a common snack here. Drake is usually wiped out after school so he watches a show. We then play outside until it is dinnertime.

My nights are usually on repeat no matter what day of the week it is!

What is your favorite part of your daily routine?

Mine is definitely my mornings home with my boys. I just love the calmness and productivity of those days!


  1. One thing I miss about not working anymore is the car drive to and from – I loved that alone time. I think that is what I miss the most now that I stay at home – I love my boys but I am an introvert and some days I just need some time to myself. I try to structure time in the day I can have to regroup. I also think that 4:30-5pm are the hardest parts of the day. When my hubby has to work later that is the worst time of the day. So my favorite part of the day is laying in bed before the boys get – I am comfy cozy and say a pray “Lord go before me today and help every step”

  2. What a great schedule you have! That is awesome! I work four days a week and stay home on Wednesdays (my daughter also goes to day care where I work so I get to see her lots the other days too). It has been so great for me!

    • What a great thing to have Wednesdays with your daughter and to be able to pop in and check on her whenever you want. I love going out and about with my boys and every place is so much less busy during the week!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here